abc book challenge

The ABC Book Challenge – J

Hey, everyone! Welcome back to another ABC Book Challenge post. I decided to do this to add more variety to the blog and also because it looked incredibly fun (and so far, it is!). Once again, thank you to Sofii @A Book. A Thought. for introducing this tag to me, and for her support. You should definitely check out her blog if you haven’t already!

Here’s the challenge: Every week (though I have not strictly been following this, haaaa), I’ll have a post sharing my most favorite titles as well as those on my current TBR list that start with the corresponding letter. (For weird letters like Q, X, and Z, I might have to bend the rules a little and just have those letters somewhere in the title, but we’ll see.)

This week is the letter J!

Read More »

abc book challenge

The ABC Book Challenge – G

Hey, everyone! Welcome back to another ABC Book Challenge post. I decided to do this to add more variety to the blog and also because it looked incredibly fun (and so far, it is!). Once again, thank you to Sofii @A Book. A Thought. for introducing this tag to me, and for her support. You should definitely check out her blog if you haven’t already!

Here’s the challenge: Every week (though I have not strictly been following this, haaaa), I’ll have a post sharing my most favorite titles as well as those on my current TBR list that start with the corresponding letter. (For weird letters like Q, X, and Z, I might have to bend the rules a little and just have those letters somewhere in the title, but we’ll see.)

This week is the letter G!

Read More »

abc book challenge d

The ABC Book Challenge – D

Hey, everyone! Welcome back to another ABC Book Challenge post. I decided to do this to add more variety to the blog and also because it looked incredibly fun (and so far, it is!). Once again, thank you to Sofii @A Book. A Thought. for introducing this tag to me, and for her support. You should definitely check out her blog if you haven’t already!

Here’s the challenge: Every week, I’ll have a post sharing my most favorite titles as well as those on my current TBR list that start with the corresponding letter. (For weird letters like Q, X, and Z, I might have to bend the rules a little and just have those letters somewhere in the title, but we’ll see.)

This week is the letter D!

Read More »

Book Review: Catwoman: Soulstealer

catwoman soulstealer

Title: Catwoman: Soulstealer
Author:
 Sarah J. Maas
Genre: Young Adult
Version: ARC – Paperback Uncorrected Proof
Page Count: 368
Publisher: Random House LCC
Synopsis: GoodReads
Notable Notables: I’m trying but I’m really struggling to think of some…
Recommended Readers: No one, especially not DC fans
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I won this ARC of Catwoman: Soulstealer from a giveaway on Tumblr, but I still want to thank the publisher for providing this for early-ish reviews.

The bad cover aside, I think some part of me was still hoping that Sarah J. Maas could at least pull off a standalone book, especially since it was a book featuring characters that aren’t her own. That being said, DC is my preferred comic book universe, and Batman especially means so much to me, so Maas was really going to have to work to impress me.

To put it simply, she did not. Maas exhibits the same flaws and bad writing quirks here that she does in her two main series. The repetitive sentence fragments, the exposition of backstory and actions to retroactively explain why present actions are possible, the attempts to manipulate the reader toward her Perfect Ending–she truly hasn’t grown as a writer at all, and no one on her team seems inclined to push her towards trying, which is super disappointing to say the least.

I wish I could say that this book gradually declined, but the truth is, it failed from the start. Selina Kyle is represented here, not as an independent, quick-witted jewel thief, but as a young woman whose agency is at the mercy of others and whose identity as Catwoman is solely created by everyone except herself.

Read More »

Book Review: Batwoman, Vol. 1: The Many Arms of Death

602784._SX1280_QL80_TTD_

Title: Batwoman, Vol. 1: The Many Arms of Death
Author:
Marguerite Bennett, James Tynion IV, Steve Epting, Stephanie Hans, Renato Arlem
Genre: Comics, Graphic Novels, Superheroes
Version: ARC (eBook)
Page Count: 168
Publisher: DC Comics
Synopsis: GoodReads
Notable Notables: Gay, female-led superhero title
Recommended Readers: New and veteran comic fans
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Thank you, DC Comics and NetGalley, for providing me with an ARC of my first ever Batwoman comic in exchange for an honest review.

Kate Kane has intrigued me ever since I first learned of her a few years ago. Up until that point, I’d had no idea she was one of the first gay female superheroes, who was once a soldier, expelled from the army due to her sexuality and the “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy. Her story and the reasons she put on the cowl instantly became memorable and important to me.

Other than the Batman: Bad Blood film and DC’s Bombshells run, I had not experienced that story in any kind of comic book form before, so I was delighted to begin her Rebirth origins, The Many Arms of Death. I was both relieved and pleased to see many of her origin details left not only intact but also emphasized here. I’m very much beginning to trust Marguerite Bennett, especially, for how she’s handling so many female superhero-led projects. She clearly knows what’s up!

Read More »

Most Anticipated Releases – January 2018

As the first of the year approaches, I thought I’d start a new post series talking about the books I’m most excited to be released each month. My plan is to do this for every month this year and hopefully have between 5-10 books to discuss for each.

This, of course, is in no way related to any insider publishing knowledge I possess (I have none), and I’m by no means pulling from an extensive list (I rely on Goodreads a lot for lists and information). So if you don’t see your fav listed here, it’s likely because I don’t know about it, so definitely drop me a comment! It may be right up my alley.

Without further ado, let’s get to it!

the cruel prince
I have been psyched for The Cruel Prince by Holly Black ever since I read that sweet, sweet synopsis on Goodreads. Anticipation for this book is actually what got me to read Holly Black’s other faerie novels, which I really enjoyed. In this one, Jude is a human who was stolen away as a child to live in the High Court of Faerie. Now she’s desperate to belong there, but most fey hate humans, especially Prince Cardan, the High King’s youngest son. Jude has to defy him if she wants a place in the Court–but doing so means consequences, for both her and her two sisters.

This book seems to feature all the things I love: court politics, a gutsy heroine, familial loyalty and drama, treachery, rich world-building, and, of course, problematic Fey love interests. A friend of mine actually found an ARC of this, and her hints have been most promising. I cannot wait for the new year and to have this book in my hands!

Release Date: January 2nd

Read More »

Book Review: Wonder Woman: Warbringer

Bard_9780399549755_epub3_001_cvi

Title: Wonder Woman: Warbringer
Auth
or: Leigh Bardugo
Genre: Young Adult, Superheroes, Sci-Fi
Version: Hardback
Page Count: 369
Publisher: Random House
Synopsis: GoodReads
Notable Notables: POC characters, LGBTQ+ character, Feminism, Origin Retelling
Recommended Readers: Fans of Diverse Characters, DC Comics/Wonder Woman fans
Rating: ★★★★★

When I found out my favorite YA author was writing not only a DC Comics book but a Wonder Woman book, a single tear rolled down my face, and I said, “For so long I give, and now I get to receive.”

And receive, I did. Completely separate from the film that debuted earlier this year, Wonder Woman: Warbringer is another origin story for Diana of Themyscira, one that takes place even before she’s considered a true Amazon like the rest of her people but set in our modern time. Diana is considered separate from the rest of the Amazons because she was the only one actually born on their hidden, secluded island; she didn’t earn her way like the rest of them did, these women warriors who evoked the names of their female goddesses and deities before dying in battle.

Read More »