Book Review: Wonder Woman: Warbringer

Bard_9780399549755_epub3_001_cvi

Title: Wonder Woman: Warbringer
Auth
or: Leigh Bardugo
Genre: Young Adult, Superheroes, Sci-Fi
Version: Hardback
Page Count: 369
Publisher: Random House
Synopsis: GoodReads
Notable Notables: POC characters, LGBTQ+ character, Feminism, Origin Retelling
Recommended Readers: Fans of Diverse Characters, DC Comics/Wonder Woman fans
Rating: ★★★★★

When I found out my favorite YA author was writing not only a DC Comics book but a Wonder Woman book, a single tear rolled down my face, and I said, “For so long I give, and now I get to receive.”

And receive, I did. Completely separate from the film that debuted earlier this year, Wonder Woman: Warbringer is another origin story for Diana of Themyscira, one that takes place even before she’s considered a true Amazon like the rest of her people but set in our modern time. Diana is considered separate from the rest of the Amazons because she was the only one actually born on their hidden, secluded island; she didn’t earn her way like the rest of them did, these women warriors who evoked the names of their female goddesses and deities before dying in battle.

Read More »