reading challenge

Reading Challenge Update – March 2019

Hey, everyone! Before I get into this reading challenge update, I wanted to thank everyone who has followed my blog recently. It’s so heartening to see, and I just want to express how happy I am about it every time. You guys are awesome!

This one’s going to be a little smaller because I was in a reading slump? Or something? It happens. I was also playing a lot of Yakuza Kiwami 2 and watching Queer Eye, so I honestly can’t be too mad about that. It was a good time.

The Great

wildcard
Finished: 3/1/19 | Rating: ★★★★☆

Challenges met:

Wildcard still features the fictional AR game Warcross, though in a lesser capacity than in the first book, and the setting is still in Japan. And I know that the term “ugly” is subjective, but I’ve loathed this cover ever since it dropped, especially when compared to the first book’s. Sorry!

vision of the future
Finished: 3/12/19 | Rating: ★★★★☆

Challenges met:

  • A book about someone with a superpower – PopSugar Reading Challenge 2019
  • Science fiction novel – Pingel Sisters 2019 Reading Challenge
  • Character with career you wish you had – @MommyMannegren’s 52 Books in 52 Weeks Reading Challenge 2019

Whether it’s Luke and Mara’s Jedi powers or the fear of Thrawn’s superhuman intellect, there’s a lot of talk about special abilities going on in Vision of the Future, Zahn’s prose turning a normally soft sci-fi series into harder sci-fi. Believe it or not, I’d love to have either Admiral Gilad Pallaeon’s or Talon Karrde’s careers. Having the kind of authority and longevity as the Supreme Commander of the Imperial Fleet or a smuggler-turned-information broker with a vast network is absolutely appealing to me.

The Meh

beneath the citadel
Finished: 3/27/19 | Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Challenges met:

  • A book you meant to read in 2018 – PopSugar Reading Challenge 2019
  • Book you haven’t read by author you love – Pingel Sisters 2019 Reading Challenge
  • A teen as the main character – @MommyMannegren’s 52 Books in 52 Weeks Reading Challenge 2019

As an ARC I received last year, I definitely meant to read Beneath the Citadel then, but this book featuring teen children of fallen rebels kept getting pushed back, despite my love for Destiny Soria’s previous work. Given my rating, that might have been a premonition. [Review]

Children of Blood and Bone
Finished: 3/28/19 | Rating: ★★★☆☆

Challenges met:

  • An “own voices” book – PopSugar Reading Challenge 2019
  • Prettiest cover – Pingel Sisters 2019 Reading Challenge
  • A book that everyone’s talking about – @MommyMannegren’s 52 Books in 52 Weeks Reading Challenge 2019

With that gorgeous cover and an all-black cast, Own Voices author Tomi Adeyemi definitely wrote the book everyone’s been raving about with Children of Blood and Bone—and I fear that hype raised my expectations far too high. While there were things I definitely liked about it, I’m afraid I was disappointed in it a lot more than I wanted to be. [Review]

This month definitely had its ups and downs with the books I chose, which may or may not have contributed to my slight reading slump. Regardless, April is off to a strong start so far, though I wonder if this next month will be where I start running out of categories. I tend to read the same genres or read with my mood, but we’ll see.

‘Til next time!

What reading challenge are you participating in? What books did you read during March? Anything that surprised you—good or bad?

Leave a comment